Five Crazy Confounding Things

At the risk of sounding like a Negative Nelly, there are some things in this world that I simply will never comprehend.

Like—

1) Why the word “Saga” is used for the Twilight series

Am I bashing S. Meyer for writing a popular series of books? Of course not. Will I ever enjoy reading or viewing wannabe Teen Wolf battle verbally with a pale, creepy, perpetual teenager? Of course not. Focusing in only on the movies,  somehow “Saga” just doesn’t fit this series…perhaps we might interject “unfortunate continuation”, in its place?

And the whole “imprinting” on a baby thing, by the guy who can’t seem to keep his shirt on? Weird!! And the fact that I know about it? Worse!!

Team Spock all the way!

2) Television with Weak Premises

You know that series, where the bad thing is established in the Pilot episode, then that same bad thing carries the series through five or more seasons, without any new revelations ever really being established? To name this series would be redundant…it’s running rampant through every station, under different names. It’s like the beast that never sleeps.

3) The Media

To watch the news simultaneously fascinates me and gets my blood boiling.  To avoid the stress, I generally avoid the News–although, to get the scoop on the upcoming elections, I’ve admittedly turned to Fox a few times now, my news channel of choice.

I maintain a firm stance on researching all I care to know about on my own time.

However, were this ninja parade actually to exist? …….Epic!

4) Replacing Sebastian Shaw with Hayden Christiansen

You know the very end of Return of the Jedi, when the ghostly images of Anakin, Obi-Wan and Yoda smile upon the Ewok party? While watching this scene in my version of the DVD, I was both shocked and appalled to see that Sebastian Shaw had been replaced by Hayden Christiansen! Anakin died old! Why replace him with his youthful self, if only to say that as a force ghost, he returned to the form he had back before the Dark Side caught hold of him?

This seems to have bothered much more people than just me. One youtuber uploaded the original Anakin ghost, in old man form, just as he should have been kept.

Then again, I break off from the Star Wars Traditionalists to say that it might have been cool had Qui-Gon been put into the end. If we’re going to taint the original scene, why not make it actually work? Qui-Gon is the man who made sure young Anakin would become a Jedi through Obi-Wan. But where would it stop? Pretty soon we would have Padme and the whole Jedi council standing there. Luke would have been so confused.

5) Child Beauty Pageants

I admit, watching Toddlers and Tiaras with my sister and aunt is one of my guilty pleasures. Between the ridiculously priced ball-room gowns made for two year olds, and the weird competitiveness between each beauty queen, this show is horrifyingly entertaining.

_______________________________________________________
So what crazy things confound you?

Leave a Reply

